Hall’s Harbour is a picturesque fishing community located along the shore of the Bay of Fundy. It lends its name both to the small fishing hamlet and to the wider community which takes up an area roughly 5 kilometers square. On the south, the area overlooks the Annapolis Valley, on the north overlooks the Bay of Fundy, on the east Sheffield Vault and on the west Chipman Brook. The area is very scenic and the hamlet itself has been declared a Nova Scotia Tourism Destination Area. The Harbour boasts a fine restaurant and lobster pound
, artists studios, antiques and artisans galleries.
The village is reputedly named after Samuel Hall, an American privateer in the American Revolution. Hall used the cove to raid settlements in the Annapolis Valley but was forced to flee and abandon his ship in the harbour by pursuing militia in 1779. Hall’s Harbour was first settled in 1826 with the first wharf built in 1836. In later years, legend held that Hall left treasure behind, attracting treasure hunters who have left abandoned pits deep in the woods surrounding the harbour. A notable early resident was Ransford D. Bucknam (Jun 7, 1869 – May 27, 1915), a local mariner whose 19th century career took him all over the world, including a post as an admiral in the Turkish Navy where he was known as Bucknam Pasha.
Hall’s harbour lighthouse:
The first lighthouse was built about 1880. Captain Dewis built the lighthouse pictured here below the Hotel in 1911. It used a kerosene lamp with a red shade. It was lit at dusk and put out at daylight. Once a year a supply boat with an inspector on board, brought kerosene, rags and soap for cleaning windows and the chimney.
The building was built on metal legs and one had to climb a ladder to get to the first floor to clean the lamp. Then it was necessary to ascend to a second level (by stairs) to light the lamp.
Halley Neville painted the complete outside in 1944. Joe Parker and other local residents painted the building over the years.
Electricity was put in October 1, 1957. The light operated from April 1 to Jan 10th and was changed to year round during James Houghton’s time as keeper.
During its history there were seven light keepers. The first was Elias MacDonald, James Watson (20 yrs); Jesse Thorpe (3 yrs); William (Billy) Keddy (5 yrs); James Leroy Houghton (17 yrs); and Marion Houghton (3 yrs).
In 1963 the light was changed to the end of the long wharf where the beacon operated automatically. The vacated lighthouse and wharf gradually deteriorated and was demolished in 1970.
HALL’S HARBOUR LOBSTER POUND:
The buildings which are presently known as the Halls Harbour Lobster Pound, date to the 1820’s. They have served in former years as a school house, church, meeting hall, a general store, way station, customs office, blacksmith’s shop, etching studio and shipyard from which the Ella Moore Tarquentine was launched as well as three 60-70 ft. schooners. The smaller buildings were used as fish Sheds, summer camps and an ice house.
The Halls Harbour Lobster Pound now serves as one of the largest lobster holding facilities in Canada with a capacity of up to 65,000 pounds. It features state of the art technology including refrigerated water, a new trickle tray and a “floating pools” holding system.
From this facility, lobsters are packed and shipped wholesale to points from Europe to Asia. Our business is expanding with new products, services and markets all over the world.
Hall’s Harbour Lobster Pound is also home to the “Lobster in the Rough” dining experience. During the warm weather, locals and visitors alike flock to this tiny fishing village to select and have prepared in the on site cook shack, a sample of the world renowned Bay of Fundy lobster.
The experience is heightened by devouring this delicacy while seated in our waterfront dining room the prime stage for observing the Fundy Tides the highest tides in the world. At low tide the wharf is high and dry and the fishing boats wait patiently on the harbour bottom until the tide rises as much as an inch a minute to the 40 foot high tide mark on the wharf.
Packaging – Lobsters may be packed in a carry on box to take with you for air or land travel and will remain alive for up to 48 hours in these conditions.
Air Freight – Call us to have your lobsters sent by air freight directly to you. From a 12 lb dinner party order to a 9000lb order for distribution overseas, we can get them to you.
Containers – Lobsters are packed in either 30 lb styros for bulk shipments or in 33 lb wax-lined cartons for container shipments. Our boxes are leak proof, fully insulated and approved by all the major airlines. The number of gel packs used will vary, depending on the time of year and the customer’s requests.